Come on in, the water’s fine!!

Well, I’ve finally decided to take the plunge. I have been reading many blogs and following the conversation on twitter for a couple of years, but I have not been much of an active participant. It’s time for that to change.

I probably have 2 dozen or so education blogs in my reader, but Dan, Sam, and Kate are some of the ones that I have really taken a lot from over the last few years. I was very jealously following twitter math camp a month ago and wishing I was there for the experience. I really enjoyed reading all of the follow up posts (many of which can be found here). Hopefully I’ll be able to join the fun next year.

A few days ago, Sam threw down the gauntlet to new bloggers to join in the experience, and I guess it’s time for me to start the blogging process myself. I have 5 new classes this year, so charting my journey and development along the way will be helpful even if only for myself. I am mostly nervous because writing is not a strong suit of mine (hence, I’m a math teacher) and all of you veterans out there seem so well composed and full of witty and insightful thoughts to share which I know I’m not yet capable of.

My next post will be more of personal introduction and explanation of why I became a teacher. I’m sure that my writing won’t be prolific, but my goal is to post at least once a week. Our first day off classes is on Monday, so there’s a lot to do before then. See you soon!!!

One thought on “Come on in, the water’s fine!!

  1. me too.Then I read the word “hazing” and went – oops! As the freshmen, let’s just be mutually supportive and huddle together. Those other guys have been doing this a while, I figure I don’t have to be close to as good. Internet can be completely ignored. I do not twitter, not being a twit. By the way, if you can get your students to read Gulliver’s travels, see how irate they become at yahoo 🙂
    Thanks for jumping in too.

Leave a Reply

